The Writer: An Unexpected Hiatus

Holy smokes, I haven’t written here in a while.

Sorry? Do people still read this?

Either way, I will continue shouting into the void.

So I haven’t written much lately for two reasons:

  1. I accidentally allowed a scheduled post to go unfinished and, in a panic, I trashed it. Now, WordPress refuses to allow me to access my trash bin so that post is just gone.
  2. In my head, I post on Mondays and I rigidly stick to that schedule, so each time I miss a Monday it’s basically a miss for that whole week.

Well not anymore.

alt=Arya Stark spinning her sword in a practice move.
Not today, procrastination.

Also I was sick and  injured the past couple of weeks, but that’s hardly an excuse. I’ve had a lot of thoughts that I wanted to share and that combination of schedule and disorganization will not do!

In a weird twist of mind, it will actually be less comfortable for me to just post once a week whenever I want than sticking to one day. But, to get back in the blog writing groove, that’s just what I’m going to do.

So What’s Crackin’? 

READING: In the past couple of months I have finished ALIF, THE UNSEEN by G. Willow Wilson, HOUSE OF SHATTERED WINGS by Aliette de Bodard, FLEDGLING by Octavia Butler, SLICE OF CHERRY by Dia Reeves, and a few nonfiction books that won’t be up for reviews but were still quite good.

Wow, writing this list has made me realize I read mostly through audiobooks. That will go a long way toward explaining this post idea I have about AFTERWORLDS and the reluctant, temporary DNF.

WRITING: So…there were definitely a few weeks where very little writing got done. BUT, I am trying to get back into the writing community both on Facebook and Twitter. I have a fairly reasonable timeline to get revisions done on SAAFire so that I can enter it into Pitch Wars this year, so expect me to be using this blog to prove I can still meet deadlines.

LIFE: I have a girlfriend! Yay! (P.S. If you forgot, I’m a lesbian. Check this list of cool lesbian-featuring YA fiction.) She’s also a writer so that’s awesome. And she’s pretty great all around. (I never know whether to over or understate this stuff, can someone send me the manual?) My girlfriend is cooler than yours. Deal with it.

I have been told that my blog voice is different from how I actually come across in real life and I’m not sure this is a good thing or bad thing but now I might actually care a lot more????

Anyway. I gave up caffeine (except green tea and the occasional stronger beverage) so apparently I am just naturally this neurotic. Damn.

alt=Dumbledore spreading his hands wide and then putting his hands on his hips. Caption reads: WELP

Also I turned 27! Huzzah! … ? I have rather enjoyed getting older, although I think I’m expected to hate it or at least dread turning 30. I’m not there yet so maybe I will once it happens but how can I know what it would be like to be 30 without ever being 30?

What’s Next?

Here are some of the blog posts I’ve got planned out/been wanting to share:

  • A list of books by and about autistic people (for Autism Acceptance Month)
  • Reviews of the books read that I listed above
  • A commentary on Iron Fist from a writer and sort-of martial artist (especially in light of having recently powered through Into the Badlands season 1 in a single evening).
  • A new novel aesthetics (this is actually the post I lost, but, basically, with the latest revisions, I updated the model/actors for some of my characters so I want to show off SAAFire’s cast again).
  • I’m also planning to share more links with some of my own thoughts, especially on more media-based material and how things like diversity struggles with publishing can parallel with diversity struggles in Hollywood.
  • I am working on a massive data visualization project looking at the YA 2016 releases with the intention of visualization diversity of authors and books. There will be some posts on this, as I’m still working through data collection and also when I get the initial visualizations up. This project looks at the author’s (where possible), protagonist’s, and cast’s:
    • Race
    • Sexual orientation
    • Gender identity
    • Disability status
    • Mental illness status
    • Age
    • Religion
    • World (if the book is a fantasy, what kind of culture is it based on, etc.?)

I don’t know what I’m going to do with that visualization project. I have a feeling I should pitch the results in an article to someone because it’s a TON of work and I can already kind of see that the results may not be surprising but will certainly be actionable. It would be great to be paid for it. We’ll see.

 

 

Author: V. Kane

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is ANATHEMA, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @ValkyrieWriting or Instagram at books_and_dogs

One thought

Leave a Reply

