Writer’s Diet–#NoSugarFeb and the Sugar-Addicted Brain

No Sugar February.

Apparently it’s a thing? I decided to forgo all added sugar (donuts, candy, cookies, stuff like that) and tagged in some family and friends to take on this challenge.

And it’s been great! I’ve already lost some weight, generally don’t really even want sugary foods anymore (I was even allowed a cheat day at the Renaissance Festival and derived very little satisfaction from those mint-chocolate covered oreos), my skin has cleared up, and I feel better.

It’s all good, right?

Nope. Imagine my surprise when my daily writing numbers started dropping to a big fat ZERO more and more often.

What the heck? This was supposed to be good for me!

Finally (yesterday, actually), I realized that I will often eat something sugary when I sit down to write. And I mean often.

I’ll go to a cafe and get an Italian soda and a cookie. Grab a custard for revisions. Reward myself with a cookie for every 1000 words done. Sugar made my brain wake up and write.

writer-meme
I didn’t even have to create this meme. It’s already common knowledge. IMAGE DESCRIPTION: Thermos of coffee with three cookies sitting around it. Caption reads: How to keep a writer alive in 3 easy steps: 1) Douse with hot coffee, 2) feed fresh cookies, 3) repeat till infinity.

Without it, I’ve just had very little motivation to write. Sure, I still outline through dictation and plan scenes. That movie in my head never, ever turns off. But I’m not writing as much. Heck, I’d rather write a blog post about not writing than settle in to write my novel without a sugary snack nearby.

Now that I’ve recognized this problem, I’ve decided to extend No Sugar February into No Sugar Lent and just deal with it.

That’s right, no added sugar/sweets for me until April 13th.

Crap, that’s the first time I’ve said or written that aloud. That looks hard. And my birthday is during that time.

I’m going to see how well I adjust over the next couple of weeks to see how I want to proceed.

If I do decide to go sugar-free until April 13th, do you think I should be able to cheat on my birthday or stay strong? Leave a comment below!

Author: V. Kane

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is ANATHEMA, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @ValkyrieWriting or Instagram at books_and_dogs

4 thoughts

  1. That sounds like an adventure! I have been ~95% vegan for about a month (not nearly as hard as I had anticipated) and my next step is cutting sugar. MyFitnessPal tells me I am definitely having too much. Perhaps I will join you for no sugar lent. And as far as your birthday is concerned…how about you give yourself the option to indulge if you really want to, but be super mindful about it so if you find you *aren’t* really feeling the need to eat sugar you don’t. That way either you get a really well-earned treat OR the satisfaction of knowing you really don’t need sugar anymore. It’s a win either way. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I say go for something unconventional in place of a birthday cake. Not that I have any particular suggestions, but I’m sure you could do something with fruit that would have no added sugar but still be fairly decadent.

    Like

Leave a Reply

