Halloween and NOT Doing NaNo WriMo

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

Halloween/October is one of the few times that I get to be my actual weird self and I’m celebrated, not derided for it. Costumes/cosplay, creepy stuff, cheesy horror movies, Cabin in the Woods, skeletons, scary imagery, and general fun shenanigans. I love it all.

This has been a crazy-busy month and I’m sad to have been a little light on the Halloween festivities this year. I missed last week’s post because I spent the weekend at Phoenix FanFest…

 

alt=a selfie picture taken with actor Tahmoh Penikett
Look at this handsome fellow!

and then this last weekend was very productive in everything except my writing. So…yeah, it’s been a month, that’s for sure!

This year, for Halloween itself, I’m staying in and passing out candy to the kids in my complex, which means I’ll have time for getting some writing done, too!

Speaking of writing, I have (kind of) big news……………..

I have made the surprisingly easy decision NOT to do NaNo WriMo this year. 

alt=gif from the Villain Pub show on Youtube showing Loki gasping and saying, "Sayeth what?" in shock.

I feel like there is a LOT of pressure on writers to do NaNo but I think that’s really just because people only talk about it if they’re ACTUALLY DOING IT. So it can seem like everyone is participating when that’s not really the case.

I mean, have you stopped to really think about what NaNo WriMo is? It’s a lot of work and I don’t have any fun if I’m not prepared for it.

So I’m here to raise awareness for those writers who said “Yeah, no,” to NaNo (probably with a bit of a chuckle, too). We’re still real writers! I’m not participating because I don’t want to cram 50,000 words of revisions into the month and I’m not ready to start drafting my new MS.

NaNo is great for the camaraderie and how motivating it can be to some people. I have seen several authors talk about how they’ve published books first written during the November NaNo rush. That’s awesome!

Maybe someday, that will be me.

But not next year, because I’m not waiting until then to start a new MS.

I have my own goals and NaNo doesn’t fit into them this time. So raise a glass of your favorite Halloween punch to have November free to write as we please! #YeahNoNaNo

(And good luck to those brave souls who are pursuing 50,000 words in the next 30 days!)

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

alt=puppy with vampire teeth in its mouth

 

Author: JA Goodsell

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is INNATE, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @JAGoodsell or Instagram at books_and_dogs

6 thoughts

  1. I’m the same!! I think NaNo is an awesome concept and doubtless people get lots out of participating, but it just wasn’t on the cards for me this year: maybe next year 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

