We Now Return to Our Sort Of Regular Programming

We’re back! After a two-ish week hiatus The Course of Events rises from the grave!

alt=scene from Beetlejuice movie where Beetlejuice rises from the grave, arms outstretched

What did that hiatus do for me? Well, I went backpacking in the Grand Canyon, specifically at some of the most beautiful waterfalls in the world.

alt=side view of Havasu Falls and the beach of the river

We hiked around Havasu Falls in the Havasupai Reservation for three days, the above picture is of Havasu Falls itself but there are four other waterfalls that were also pictures of splendor and natural beauty.

The Havasupai are truly a lucky people. I am so fortunate to have been able to experience the falls over the weekend.

I realized a few things while I was out there. After four or five days of no writing, no thinking about my stories or my obligations back home, and absolutely zero social media, I started pondering why I’m running this blog in the first place.

But first, let me just say that staying off social media for awhile was a-MAY-zing! Ugh, one of my friends on the trip can tell you that, when she found the rare wifi signal and got on facebook, I wanted NONE of those stories.

I wanted to be cut off from the outside world and a lonely village at the bottom of a canyon was the perfect place to hide away.

But back to the blog…

I still want to maintain The Course of Events. I’ve made new friends (hi readers and blogging friends!) and I like writing the posts! Maintaining a blog also represents an ability to make regular deadlines and come up with new content. That’s kind of important to me as a budding writer.

But…it ain’t all fun and games. I’m revising an old manuscript and outlining a new one. I need to let my focus linger on that. This blog is for fun, but those stories need to be told.

And I want this blog to be for FUN! Not for work. Especially because I’m not getting paid for it.

So! This will be the last Thursday post for a while. I’ll be putting out regular Monday posts–hopefully weekly. I already have some planned, a few book reviews and a few things to talk about that I think are new and quirky and maybe a little sideways.

I’ll see you on Monday with some thoughts on visualizing characters and how I think I might do that differently from other people…

Author: JA Goodsell

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is INNATE, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @JAGoodsell or Instagram at books_and_dogs

6 thoughts

  1. Forgot to say, one of the highlights of my life was a 16 day rafting trip down the Colorado River in wooden dories. We hiked to some of the falls and to the Little Colorado with its turquoise water. A full moon lit the canyon and it was so warm we threw our sleeping bags on the ground without tents. I recommend it as a getaway, but my trip was before all this social media stuff.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I would love to raft down the Colorado! I’ve been in parts of the canyon but that sounds like such a cool trip.
      It’s funny, I have all these post ideas now that the pressure is off. I think I know better than to try and go back to my old schedule, though! At least for now.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

