PitMad and DVPit

Today is PitMad on Twitter! I’m not going to try to compete with that (and I’m keeping an eye on several of my Pitch Warrior friends, too) so it’s a short post today.

What is PitMad? It’s sort of a follow-up to Pitch Wars for those who weren’t selected. It’s run by the wonderful Brenda Drake and allows writers to pitch polished, unpublished manuscripts on Twitter. The cool part is that agents and editors are able to use the genre-related hashtags and #PitMad to go find manuscripts they may be interested in working with.

Basically, it’s a cool way to connect writers and agents/editors!

INNATE is not ready. My first half is undergoing extensive rewrites so it’s definitely not polished. Buuuuuuuuuuuuut, I am hoping to enter DVPit.

What is DVPitKinda the same thing as PitMad and other pitch parties on Twitter: You pitch an unpublished manuscript and hashtags that agents and editors can use to find your pitch. Hopefully they favorite your pitch and love your manuscript!

DVPit focuses specifically on stories ABOUT diverse and marginalized manuscripts and authors. This isn’t for manuscripts where diverse characters are side characters, subplots, or in the background (and there isn’t necessarily anything wrong with such a story). It’s trying to highlight stories where characters from marginalized groups are front and center.

INNATE has two main characters, both of which are bisexual and one of which is disabled.

Currently, one of my critique partners has said I have one pretty good pitch:

Dawn is bonded to a long dormant goddess who wants her to destroy the other gods. She’ll risk all to defy fate.

 

I have others but even I have to admit this is the strongest. Let’s hope the MS is ready to go by October 6th!

And best of luck to everyone entering PitMad today!

 

Author: V. Kane

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is ANATHEMA, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @ValkyrieWriting or Instagram at books_and_dogs

Leave a Reply

