Living in the Moment

This is going to be the most ironic post of the year for me, I think. I meant to publish this short piece on living in the moment yesterday so clearly I need to take my own advice.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about a few things that have upset me. These are minor moments that may or may not be misunderstandings which sparked that part of my brain that walks through conversations until I have it exactly as I want to have a field day.

I call that masterful manipulator the Wind-Up Toy. It winds up those sad, hurt, and angry thoughts that might have passed with another moment of consideration and cranks at them until they’re all I can think about. When I’m in Wind-Up mode, I can blow up misunderstandings into a downward spiral of sadness and anger.

giphy (18)
I feel you, Doc.

When I catch myself heading down that unhappy road, the only way to stop myself is to distract myself and say, Live in the moment.

Reminding myself to live in the moment brings me back to the present–to whatever I was doing. It reminds me to focus on what’s around me, because being wound up means I’m usually so deep in my own head that the rest of the world drops away.

And the only time I should be that deep is when I’m writing and I’ve built a new world instead.

Unfortunately, this post isn’t late because I was living in the moment. This post is late because I spent a lot of time this week catching up on all the things I didn’t do while the Wind-Up Toy was at work. Some things that I didn’t catch up on? Writing. Of course.

When I did manage to live in the moment, I got some pretty cool moments. I took the picture above at a park where I went to write one night. I happened to be walking around the east side of the lake and look up to see this gorgeous desert sunset. If I had been stuck in my own head with those angry thoughts, I would never have seen that, much less taken the picture.

20160902_171141
There’s also this hyper-realistic statue staring exactly where I sat, which I didn’t realize until I was already set up.

I’m taking the long weekend to refocus and get my head back in the game. This is just your friendly reminder not to let the sneakier parts of your mind distract you from what’s important.

I’ll leave you to your weekend with some sagely advice from the Cookie Monster:

alt=Picture of the Cookie Monster with a caption of, "Today me will live in the moment, unless it's unpleasant, in which case me will eat a cookie."

 

 

Author: V. Kane

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is ANATHEMA, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @ValkyrieWriting or Instagram at books_and_dogs

One thought

Leave a Reply

