Monthly Blog Update: Stormy July

This is super late but did I mention I was doing Pitch Wars? Here’s how July stacked up against June on the blog!

Look! A table! The future is now.

June July Percent Change
Views 386 350  9.32% decrease
Visitors 197 176  10.65% decrease
Likes 107 81  24.3% decrease
Comments 39 22  43.59% decrease
Countries Represented: 20 21  5% increase

Reflections

July saw me miss a few posts, take a break during the last week of the month and the first week of August. I’m choosing to view this as a sign that numbers will be up later in the year!

The good news is that views to the home page doubled from June to July. This is likely due to a layout change that now provides a home page in the first place, instead of a separate tab. I am loving the new layout and have gotten some good feedback.

The thing about the current layout is that it’s much easier for people to find posts they actually want to read. As I hope to expand contacts throughout the writing community, this might be more important than having a huge webpage to scroll through.

For July, I planned out most of the posts a few weeks advance and wrote them before I got really deep into revisions. This SAVED ME. Now, I know that if I have a busy time coming up,  I NEED to have posts written and scheduled ahead of time. It’s much easier for me to keep up on my reading of other blogs and continue interacting with people across the blogosphere if I’m not spending precious, limited free time writing my own posts.

Moving Forward

The focus now is going to be finding a nice balance between revising INNATE, outlining a new manuscript, and blogging. I’ve decided to go back to twice a week blog posts with the occasional Saturday post if I have something I really want to get out. As I’m reading more books, maybe I’ll do reviews on Saturday. Who knows? The least stressful option is probably what I’ll end up doing.

P.S. I’ll be following the blogs of other Pitch Wars hopefuls and eventual mentees, so maybe there will be some collaboration in the future! At the least, riveting discussion may give me some new ideas!

Author: V. Kane

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is ANATHEMA, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @ValkyrieWriting or Instagram at books_and_dogs

3 thoughts

      1. Thank U!
        I love to see u visit my site!
        Congrats about th 100 Followers – goodness knows how I am going to get 200; constant quality content is what they recommend – that’s easy, it’s finding th readers to come over is th difficult part!
        Always interested to see what u write about, and try to drop by as often as poss!
        Cheers!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

