September Book Reading and Giveaway!

Since we’re about halfway through August, I’m not doing a full list BUT I HAVE AWESOME NEWS FOR SEPTEMBER!!!

After reading the lovely Dahlia Adler’s book club and knowing that I was putting up a list each month of books I already intended to read, including diverse YA, I thought:

You know what would be great? You know what would help support diverse authors?

A GIVEAWAY! 

giphy (33).gif

In September.

giphy (34).gif

With only two weeks left in August, it’s a little short notice to do an August list and giveaway but thank goodness September is only two weeks away!

This means I can do an August + September giveaway!

Here’s how this will work on The Course of Events:

I’ll publish a list of books I plan to read in the coming month. These will be the YA fiction, Reading Around the World, and any biography I manage to actually read once in a while. These will be books intended to expand my reading and support diverse authors–but they’re also books I expect to enjoy reading!

So where does the giveaway come in?

Wellll…if you read one of the books in my list and leave a review on Goodreads AND either Amazon or Barnes and Noble’s site. Leave the link in the comments by the last weekday of the month (I will send out a reminder post!) and you will be entered in a giveaway from a fabulous book prize! One entry per review (remember, you MUST leave a link in the comments of the reading list post).

Read one book –> leave one review –> get one entry in the giveaway!

Read two books –> leave two reviews –> get TWO entries in the giveaway!

For this list, the last weekday of September is the deadline (aka, September 30).

P.S. Your review must be new and by new, let’s say in the three months leading up to the deadline. So, for this first one, your review should have been posted between July 1 and September 30.

My blog is currently quite small, so we’re sticking with new books now and two prizes because I’m an optimist, but if there’s demand then we’ll increase the list and the number of prizes. So join in, win stuff, and maybe there will be more in the future!

And now, without further ado, here is the August/September reading list! 22295304

Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older

This is the Diverse YA choice of the month. I actually started Shadowshaper last month but it’s SUPER VOICEY and, since I was neck-deep in INNATE revisions, I didn’t have the bandwith to separate Sierra’s voice and Dawn’s/Skye’s.

P.S. I love this book so far. Magic through art? ALL THE VOICE? I can’t wait to do the review!

algerian fantasia

 

 

 

 

Fantasia: An Algerian Cavalcade by Assia Djebar

This is the Reading Around the World choice of the month. I’m a month behind so we actually have TWO of these for August/September.

The second one is….

 

Teacher of Cheops

 

The Teacher of Cheops by Albert Salvadó
I’m excited for this one! I’m so lucky that Ann Morgan has already created a fantastic list of books from around the world. This one is from Andorra, a tiny country nestled between France and Spain that I don’t think I’ve ever heard of. I had to look it up on a map. That is the whole point of this Reading Around the World list.

You might be thinking, “This book looks like it’s about ancient Egypt.” And it seems like it is. But it’s written by an author from Andorra and it’s apparently quite difficult to get an English translation of that kind of book. Can’t wait to read it!

What else is new???

I have an enormous stack of books to read so let’s include:

Cinder           The Girl From Everywhere

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

and

The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Helig

  • This is my September Diverse YA book of the month! Please enjoy!

Remember: 

One book –> One review –> One entry into the giveaway

Read more books? Leave more reviews? Get more entries!

I also realized that September 30 is the day I’m heading out to hike down a canyon and hang out for two days at a few waterfalls that make most of the “Top 10 Most Beautiful Waterfalls in the World” lists so the winners will be announced after I get back!

Oh, and the prizes are:

Witchlanders by Lena Coakley, and

Last Will and Testament by Dahlia Adler

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: V. Kane

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is ANATHEMA, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @ValkyrieWriting or Instagram at books_and_dogs

Leave a Reply

