Flash Fiction Challenge

I thought of this challenge as I was writing about the muggy heat of a rainforest afternoon, despite never having been to a rainforest. Most of my inspiration came from living in humid places and dialing that up to 11 (and reading about what it feels like to traverse a rainforest). I want my reader to feel like they are experiencing this stifling damp warmth along with my characters.

Then I thought, that would be a really interesting exercise! But I don’t really do exercises on this blog so I figured, let’s do a flash fiction challenge!

Using the picture below as inspiration OR your own experiences/setting, write a paragraph about a setting that makes your readers feel like they are really in that place. Use the weather, the different senses, the atmosphere of the place, etc.

photo-1413991373856-f4a827458063

Please post your responses in the comments below or feel free to share this flash fiction challenge on your blog! The more the merrier!

 

Author: V. Kane

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is ANATHEMA, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @ValkyrieWriting or Instagram at books_and_dogs

2 thoughts

  1. I love this picture. It reminds me of driving through San Francisco. On the Great Highway you either get the timing right and cruise straight through or you stop at a light once city block at a time. I prefer the latter, actually, because as much as I’m a destination person rather than the journey there person while driving it’s very relaxing to linger along Ocean Beach this way. With the window down you get just a hint of salt breeze and the sounds of the surf, a distant crashing rhythm becoming part of the usual ambient traffic sounds. It’s like I can finally breathe again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

