Phoenix Comicon Part 1

I am at Phoenix Comicon allllll weekend working as a handler. There will be long hours, long lines, and cool people.

Phoenix Comicon is also a great author convention and we have some fantastic people out this year including Patrick Rothfuss, Brandon Sanderson,  and V.E. Schwab. Of course we still have our local regulars like Gini Koch and James A. Owen. I plan to say hello, get some books signed, and ask all these authors one question (at least):

What advice would you give to writers who are writing their second draft?

This is especially pertinent to me because I’m on my second draft and this seems to be the most mysterious draft. I am not quite sure what to do with it when I’m done. Well, I’ve already gotten some great advice and I will be compiling everything for a final post after the convention for your reading and educational pleasure.

So enjoy your weekend and I’ll see you on Monday!

Author: V. Kane

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is ANATHEMA, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @ValkyrieWriting or Instagram at books_and_dogs

2 thoughts

  1. I did several things in my second draft. The first was restructure the story. My initial organization was basically scaffolding, without which I couldn’t have gotten the first draft done but it got in the way of the story. And after I had the first draft I had a much better idea of how to structure the story. The second was to begin the process of deleting unnecessary parts of the first draft and enhancing areas that were incomplete. The third was to improve the quality of the writing.

    Hope this helps.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

