Monthly Blog Update: May Flowers

My life in May might actually have been busier than in April. I’m not sure how I did that. Let’s agree to take June a bit easier, yeah? Yeah.

May saw my one-year blogging anniversary (blogoversary), realizing that I might need to learn a modicum of coding to run my own WordPress site effectively, and trying to keep up with networking and organization. I ordered a Passion Planner, visited some blogs, and generally did not stay organized or up-to-date as a blog reader.

I have higher aspirations for June. It will be better!

April: 

Visitors: 199 (29% improvement)

Countries represented: 19 (46% improvement)

Views: 413 (66.5% improvement)

Likes: 131 (138% improvement)

Comments: 77 (40% improvement)

May: 

Visitors: 181

Countries represented: 17

Views: 376

Likes: 125

Comments: 66

I chose not to do the percent improvement in May because all of the May stats are lower than the April stats and for a good reason. April had the A to Z Blogging Challenge which drove a huge amount of new traffic over here. May saw us going back to our normal routine. That said, I think almost catching up to April’s stats is pretty good! If we skip April and compare May to March, the improvement is much better–especially in likes and comments, which show people actually participating in the posts, something I really love!

 

Moving Forward:

Last month, I said I was going to learn Pinterest (ha! I got the app but I’m still a little scared of it), be more active on Twitter (that’s coming along), figure out how to properly source images (haven’t done that so I mostly rely on Pablo and Canva databases), and read more blog posts from others.

This last one has proven to be the bigger challenge. Some mornings I will go through my blog reader and read several posts. I have also gone over a week before realizing I haven’t touched that reader at all! There are so many bloggers I do follow regularly, I don’t want to miss anything!

So, moving forward, I am going to try working this into my regular routine. It’s a little tough while having a daily word count goal of 1000+ to meet my self-imposed second draft deadline to fit this in. I think I have found some inspiration from the 10 Minute Novelists, though. For the month of June, I will devote 10 minutes a day to visiting others’ blogs, websites, and facebook posts in order to build that participation into my schedule while also making sure my comments are meaningful.

I hope you enjoy the new layout! This blog is over a year old, let’s hope it continues to grow and we can do some more fun stuff for the next anniversary!

Author: JA Goodsell

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is INNATE, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @JAGoodsell or Instagram at books_and_dogs

Leave a Reply

