Writerly Aspirations

Hello! Welcome to the new layout. Not much has changed and I’m still tinkering a bit. For someone who isn’t (yet) paid to write and has no programming skills, I think it turned out all right!

I wanted to talk a bit about writing goals today. Over the past week, several people I follow on Twitter talked about what success means for them and, for each person, it was different! It’s not just getting published or being a NYT bestseller, success can be getting a positive review, making X amount of money, or being able to write full time.

So that got me thinking: As I pass a 1 year anniversary for blogging and come up on my 2 year anniversary at my day job, what are my writing goals? What does “success” mean to me?

The most obvious answer was, “publication” but anyone can put a book up on Amazon and call themselves published. Even though I know I’m reaching for a different bar, I think it’s a useful exercise to be more specific in definition and also bound to a timeline to help motivate me.

So here are my writing goals as of today:
1) Complete AND submit the SAAFire manuscript to an agent on or before June 1, 2017
– now, many of you may know this goal is actually set for Jan 1, 2017 but I am seriously doubting how ready this MS will be by then so here is a still-challenging but more realistic goal.

2) Attend one or more writing conferences by January 1, 2018
– this doesn’t include book festivals, I want to get myself to an actual writing convention sometime in the next year and a half for professional opportunities and experiences

3) Start a new MS in 2017
– wherever SAAFire is at the end of this year, I have other stories I want to tell and I will take some time next year to work on at least one of them. I’ve put my heart and soul into SAAFire but I have a new idea that is likely more marketable, meaning I may have to shelve my darling for later.

That’s my version of successful, at least until I overthink this some more and come up with something else!

Have a great Monday!

Don’t forget to check out The Course of Event’s Diverse YA Book Club if you haven’t already!

Author: V. Kane

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is ANATHEMA, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @ValkyrieWriting or Instagram at books_and_dogs

Leave a Reply

