New Deadlines, New Pressures

Eight-hundred and sixty-three. That is the number of words I must write, new, in SAAFire 2.0’s manuscript, every day, in order to get to my estimated total word goal by July 22nd. This is the postponed due date for the second draft to be completed (it was supposed to be done May 1st, I’m on chapter one).

I had hoped to have a draft ready to go by the end of the year but unless the third draft is written, the fourth edited, and the fifth approved by beta readers in the remaining five months, it ain’t happening.

I’m expecting at least five drafts. Remember, I have characters with experiences well outside my scope so I also need to run it by sensitivity readers. If I’ve gotten those characters wrong, I’m looking at several rewrites in the best case scenario and total overhaul (essentially scrapping the manuscript and starting again) in the worst.

Let’s hope I get it right!

Why December? I noticed in January that a lot of agents put out calls for submissions on social media and I’d like to be ready for that and get my manuscript in early. That’s not to say January is the only time an agent might accept a submission, but it was a goal. I’ve been noting the source and timing of other events, like the pitch events on Twitter, so I can be ready for those, as well.

Basically, I really want SAAFire to be ready to submit in 2017. Ideally in early 2017 but it happens when it happens.

At first glance, 863 isn’t so bad–heck, it’s under my 1,000/per day 365k Club goal! But, this is new material every day. The 365k Club counts blog posts, outlining, and rewrites (this blog post alone is 452 words). If I skip a day to outline, I have to catch up the next day with 1726 words to meet my deadline. And I need to outline. SAAFire 2.0 will be a total mess without an outline. It will be a first draft all over again–and that ended disastrously with the first act completely incongruous with the second and third acts.

Oh, and now I’m considering a four act structure. So yes, outlining is extremely important to the success of this second draft.

This is where the discipline comes in. I’ve had trouble writing every day–especially during April when much of that daily writing was eaten up by blog posts. But if I really want to make this deadline, I’m going to make that leap and get it done.

Anyone else out there in need of an accountibili-buddy or someone to share in mutual cheering on, I am here and I will be there for you! We’re all in this together!

pablo (6)

Author: JA Goodsell

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is INNATE, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @JAGoodsell or Instagram at books_and_dogs

4 thoughts

  1. Hang in there. You’ll get it done.

    Coincidentally, I’m looking for someone to hold me accountable with my writing. I have a Twitter group that helps, forces me to be honest. But sometimes, the group doesn’t reply. However, I think having an one-on-one accountability relationship would help immensely. I understand that people are busy, but I would like someone to keep in check with me. Maybe help me brainstorm ideas for short stories to keep my writing sharp before I tackle my novel project.

    Thought I would share. Good luck with your rewrite.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

