Monthly(ish) Blog Update

Welcome to May! It’s a new month, that means time for a new monthly update!

I didn’t actually do a monthly blog update during April because, you know, A to Z Challenge. Some intrepid bloggers managed to post other content and I applaud them.

shia labeouf clapping.gif
Seriously, though, you’re amazing

There are some lessons to be learned from this update, so I’m actually kind of glad I’m doing both of them together.

March: 

Visitors: 154 (3% improvement)

Countries represented: 13 (8% improvement)

Views: 248 (0% improvement)

Likes: 55 (3% decrease)

Comments: 22 (18% decrease)

In March, I took a brief hiatus in preparation for the A to Z Blogging Challenge and also because I left the country for the the last week of March (you cannot begin to imagine the slew of Japan pictures that will be featured on this blog in the weeks, maybe months, to come *laughs*). It isn’t terribly surprising that my stats hardly improved and, in some cases, decreased. Comments, especially, tend to be somewhat driven by conversations instead of multiple individual comments. Fewer posts means fewer conversations.

April: 

Visitors: 199 (29% improvement)

Countries represented: 19 (46% improvement)

Views: 413 (66.5% improvement)

Likes: 131 (138% improvement)

Comments: 77 (40% improvement)

April had my first blogging challenge! Obviously, this helped drive traffic and, with some really intense blog posting, I don’t expect May to improve but I’d love to try and maintain or come close.

Moving forward: 

There is no blueprint to making blogging friends, but I have so enjoyed reading some of these A to Z Challenge bloggers that I can’t wait to become a regular follower and I hope to make some long-lasting connections. I mentioned in March that I will be looking to collaborate more, do more flash fiction challenges, and possibly upgrade the site a little bit. Those things are still in the works, so stay tuned!

I am also learning to use Pinterest! Yes, I finally broke down after I couldn’t look up Japanese-themed aquariums and now I’m discovering it can be a startlingly useful tool for writers. Who knew? Well, lots of people. Now me.

AND I just gained 1,000 followers on Twitter! *waves happy flag* It’s a little terrifying to think that I’m not just talking into a void when I post something online, which is very much what was happening for most of the almost-year that I’ve been writing this blog. After a few YA-community incidents, I am definitely seeing the online community as just that: a community. Not just accounts, blogs, and writers but friends, connections, and support. As I keep learning, I hope to become a part of that.

I’m also trying to find the best way to upload and source images so if anyone has expert advice on that, I’d appreciate a hint in the comments. There’s a lot of conflicting information.

While I continue to learn how to do social media, I hope to be better at more regularly reading blog posts from those bloggers whose work I have truly come to enjoy. I will get a list together for my A to Z Reflections post coming up on Monday so you can join in on the fun!

 

Author: V. Kane

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is ANATHEMA, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @ValkyrieWriting or Instagram at books_and_dogs

4 thoughts

  1. I found you during the A To Z Challenge and enjoyed what you had to say. I’m fascinated by your stats. I’ve never been a numbers person, so it has never occurred to me to do what you did. I’m charmed by it, truth be told. I agree that there is no blueprint for making blog friends. It kind of happens, then shifts around a bit, then either you click forever or you go your own ways. I look forward to reading what you have to say in the future and to seeing your photos of Japan.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I enjoyed your A to Z posts as well (and you’ll probably see me trying to catch up with some late likes and visits). I started the update to be transparent and because I wanted to review the numbers anyway. I’m hoping it will help me compare my progress to my past and not to other blogs, you know?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

