May Reading List

Welcome to May!

The A to Z Challenge is behind us, recap post is coming up next Monday after a quick breather (and some puzzling about why my “Y” and “Z” posts are reversed…).

I have tried reading lists before and I usually over-commit myself but I also like public monthly reading lists for their accountability. So let’s take a look at what’s on tap for May:

Growing Carnivorous Plants

61KbGVjvBQL._SX387_BO1,204,203,200_

Okay, I’m reading this because it’s kind of my hobby and I’m setting up a bog aquarium with carnivorous plants (and it’s a-MAY-zing!). But, I have also found a way to incorporate these lovely beasties into my story so now I have a working excuse to read them!

51752rjZGJL._SX318_BO1,204,203,200_ A Thousand Splendid Suns

A friend recently turned me on to this Reading Around the World list that Ann Morgan put together in attempt to broaden her reading horizons. This is the first book I’ll be reading in attempt to make my way through this list. The audiobook sounds great so I’m really looking forward to 11+ hours of listening.

For the Benefit of Those Who See
41R2x4Q4Y8L._SX257_BO1,204,203,200_

This one is all book research. As I have a secondary protagonist who is blind, I am constantly reading about the experiences of blind people. This book has been extremely helpful as the writer travels and interacts with blind communities in different parts of the world, gathering various experiences in past and present times. Recommendations for blind research are always welcome!

Rogue Squadron 51+lf0F5UoL._SX303_BO1,204,203,200_

This is the May book for The Wandering Penguins’ reading discussion. We started a new thing where we read a book and discuss something that the author did really well as an effort to learn by example. The author, Michael Stackpole, regularly attends Phoenix Comicon (and we are a Phoenix-based group) so I’m looking forward to meeting him in a few weeks!

 

What’s on your reading list this month?

Author: V. Kane

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is ANATHEMA, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @ValkyrieWriting or Instagram at books_and_dogs

2 thoughts

  1. I just started The Dressing Station by Jonathan Kaplan. I’m only two chapters in but I am really excited about it. I recently culled my collection down to just the one bookshelf and then stocked it with mostly novels and memoirs at a book sale bag day in April…easy, quick train reading. After this book I’ll just have to wait and see which one chooses me next. 😉

    http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/329297.The_Dressing_Station

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

