Monthly Update: March Book Club and Blog Stats

The main purpose of this blog was to explore the black boxes that writers must safely navigate to get their books published. I recently realized that I am neglecting one of those boxes on this blog: the author platform.

The second purpose of this blog and most of my presence on social media is to build a community. I take careful notes about the posts on my blog that are the most popular–trying to see what my readers are interested in and catering to that. Hint: It’s typically stuff that’s a little more controversial and posts where my writing is more passionate.

I guess that should be kind of obvious.

In an effort to be (perhaps naively) transparent and explore the black box of building this platform and finding this community of awesome writers, readers, bloggers, and people otherwise along for the ride, I’ve decided to post a monthly update.

Monthly Update: March Book Club

You know what’s awesome? Book Clubs.

photo-1431608660976-4fe5bcc2112c
We’re going to read allllll of the books.

We added a book club element to The Wandering Penguins meetings and it’s been…flavorful. So far. Two books in and going strong.

The Book Club for The Course of Events (The Course of the Book? Of Course It’s a Book Club?) is basically going to be me posting a list of books I *intend* to read this month and potentially review on this blog and then offer up reviews and comments for discussion, if you have read or read along with me.

I performed dismally on my February reading list so I’m pairing it down to three or four books in March.

The books on tap for this month are:

The Color Purple  by Alice Walker (the February book for Emma Watson’s Our Shared Shelf that I didn’t get around to).

Truthwitch: A Witchlander Novel by Susan Dennard (I’m halfway done and LOVE it so far, will definitely do a review!)

The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson (the March book for the Wandering Penguins)

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (listening to this on audiobook)

I am going to Japan later this month and, with a long plane ride, there will likely be another audiobook along for the ride.

Ha ha, did I say three to four? I meant three to four and then some…apparently…

Monthly Update: Blog Stats

Building an author platform is one of the black boxes between writing and getting published. I am using this blog as a way to explore writing, the writer community, but also to get my work and myself out there. I love interacting with readers, have made some blogging/writing friends, and really enjoy reading other blogs (check out my list on the side of this page!).

The Course of Events is quite small right now but I was so happy with February’s improved performance that I decided to add this element of naive transparency to the update so others can feel a little bit better about their progress.

Also, a big, happy welcome and thank you to everyone who has joined me along the way! You all look amazing, today.

64946507

January:

Visitors: 70

Countries represented: 6

Views: 112

Likes: 17

Comments: 17

That was a record for me. It’s tiny but I had just started using Twitter to promote my posts. Up until this point, it was all Facebook and relying on Bing and tags.

February:

Visitors: 143 (104% improvement)

Countries represented: 12 (100% improvement)

Views: 238 (112% improvement)

Likes: 56 (229% improvement)

Comments: 27 (59% improvement)

I’ve posted often and regularly enough (and gotten the threshold level of traffic) to now be featured in Google’s search results! That was a huge step up for me, too.

Moral of the story: Promote your blog on multiple platforms. Especially Twitter. Thanks tweeps!

How have you promoted your work? I’ve heard that Pinterest can be surprisingly helpful, but I’m so intimidated by it that I haven’t tried it yet.

That’s it for the monthly udpate. Have a great week!

Author: V. Kane

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is ANATHEMA, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @ValkyrieWriting or Instagram at books_and_dogs

Leave a Reply

