Flash Fiction Challenge

photo-1429497612798-1f189166a08a

Welcome to my first ever Flash Fiction Challenge! Flash fiction is generally any story under 1,000 words but I’ve seen challenges that shorten it to 500 or 250 and play with the prompt a little bit.

Since I haven’t done anything really interactive before on The Course of Events, I’d like to start small. If people like this, we’ll do more challenges in the future!

This particular challenge was inspired by a prompt that I’ve seen mostly on Writer’s Digest but also on other blogs. You see the picture above? Your challenge is to write the opening sentence of a story that goes with that picture using 25 words or less.

I’d like to add a bit of extra to this challenge: Write the first AND last sentences of a story inspired by the photo above. For this, you can use 50 words total, to be divided between the two sentences however you like.

Now, you can make up whatever first and last sentences you want. The writing exercise part of this prompt, though, is to imagine the whole story, however long or complicated it is, and know exactly how it begins and ends. The middle may be a mess, but writers are constantly lamenting the difficulty in beginning and/or ending a story. So break out that imagination and get storytelling.

Post your response in the comments below or on your blog (and link it back here) and I’ll post them next week (along with my response)!

Happy writing!

Author: JA Goodsell

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is INNATE, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @JAGoodsell or Instagram at books_and_dogs

4 thoughts

  1. I didn’t know I was leaving til I was halfway to the state line.

    I considered my surroundings- July’s breeze barely moving the kitchen curtains, coffee on the counter, Lyn’s shrill but familiar laugh- and realized with almost imperceptible shock, and no small relief, that this was inevitable after all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

