Resources for Writers–Updated

Hey there! Welcome to the blog post. I had a crazy-busy weekend that involved no words written and guess what happens when I spend the whole weekend not writing?

I don’t get my Thursday blog post done on time.

giphy (8)
I am so sorry, tiny kitten!

via GIPHY

The review of Snow Like Ashes will happen next week (promise).  Instead, here is something I’ve been working on for just such an occasion. It’s a compilation of resources I have found useful and an update to my last post like this.

Social Media

If you’re like me, you’re still kind of new to blogging, author pages on Facebook (can I even have one if I’m not an author yet?), twitter, and how to connect with other people who might support you. Here are some things I’ve found that have helped me!

Blogs to follow:

BadRedHead Media — Rachel Thompson is a writer and marketing/branding consultant. She has an excellent 30 day marketing challenge that I’m doing now and if her website (which I’m still exploring) is half as informative as these daily marketing tips, I’m a customer for life!

Pub(lishing) Crawl — You can get a daily email from this group of authors and publishing industry professionals writing about books, publishing, and everything in between. Almost as if they know we have limited time, their posts are usually pretty short and tailored to provide useful information.

Jeff Goins — More website than blog, but Jeff Goins is a successful writer who provides down-to-earth advice about how to make a business out of your writing. As someone who also gets regular, over-the-top happy/optimistic posts about leaving my day job to be a full time writer (you know the ones), I find Goins’ website to be particularly refreshing.

Facebook:

10 Minute Novelists — I CANNOT sing the praises of this group enough. With frequent chats on Facebook and Twitter and a supportive community of writers and authors, you can write any genre, any format, any length, any time and you’d fit in here.

Writing groups — I organize the Wandering Penguins meetings on Facebook and this allows us to talk as a group, share resources, and create events outside of the in-person meetings. Facebook is generalized, unlike many other social media sites, which are specialized for one or two forms of communication, allowing me to incorporate event organization with online discussion.

Technology

I really only have resource(s) for learning Scrivener and the latest one is this free mini-course by Joseph Michaels, my primary resource for Scrivener. Michaels runs several seminars and courses like this that are discounted or free and, if you’re at all familiar with Scrivener, you understand the benefits to having an expert teach it to you.

But, I have started using Buffer to schedule posts and am finding this to be a very nice way to stay on top of putting content online without having to always be online. This is how I’ll still be talking at you while I’m off in Japan in March! 😀

Writing

I’ve trumpeted K.M. Weiland a lot before but I just finished her Outlining Your Novel and found it quite useful, even if it’s not the exact way I’ll go about my outlining. What I really like about her how-to books is that, even though she describes the way the she outlines or structures her novels, readers can gain a ton of useful knowledge even if they don’t end up using the exact same strategies. Talk about a versatile teacher!

But the  best writing resource for me (that doesn’t involve actually teaching about writing) as a YA writer is: books in my genre.

Read, read, read, read, read in your genre. Read indiscriminately. Is it bad? Articulate why and how avoid it in your story. Is it good? Figure out what works. Is it freaking amazeballs? Buy another copy and mark that book up until you’ve found the secret. But read and read and read.

Did you see my February reading list? Well it’s bigger by two books now (yay for surprise library holds coming in, right?). I’m taking my own advice and you should, too.

Other Stuff

Don’t isolate yourself: In the Wandering Penguins, 10 Minute Novelists, bloggers, and connections on Twitter I have found friends and allies in my writing. Over time, stronger connections with individuals develop. I have been slowly expanding my writing circle and I love making new friends. With all these social media platforms, technological opportunities, and reading to do, don’t forget about the importance of being connected to living people.

2016-02-10 19.24.14.jpg
Also don’t forget those furry friends, even if they beg for attention while you’re working.

 

Author: JA Goodsell

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is ANATHEMA, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @JAGoodsell or Instagram at books_and_dogs

One thought

Leave a Reply

