Holy February Reading Batman!

My TBR list is a little out of control. You know the feeling, right? I need to organize.

Goodreads provides the means and incoming library requests and recommendations provide the impetus. I have to prioritize the books I’m going to read so I can make sure I don’t lose my chance (with lib requests) or put books others have recommended for me on the back burner (unfortunately, only one of those made it to the February shelf but we’ll see how March goes).

So, what am I reading in February?

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken (2016)

20983362

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them— whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are play­ing, treacherous forces threaten to sep­arate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home . . . forever

I put this on hold at the library after it hit the bestseller list so quickly and everyone on Twitter was hailing it as an amazing foray into a new world. I’ve read Alexandra Bracken before and it wasn’t quite my style. This looks more up my alley and I’m hoping this book lives up to the hype.

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

12954620

In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It’s the eve of war…. Choose your side.

Princess: Raised in pampered luxury, Cleo must now embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of magic long thought extinct.

Rebel: Jonas, enraged at injustice, lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished. To his shock, he finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Sorceress: Lucia, adopted at birth into the royal family, discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Heir: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, firstborn son Magnus begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword

I actually added this to my wishlist a couple of years ago after Amazon suggested it to me. Since I was in school, I just looked for it in libraries whenever I visited but never found it. Now that I’m more less-temporarily rooted, I just requested it and picked it up a couple days ago! Fallings Kingdoms became a series (congrats to Morgan Rhodes!) so I expect to add the rest of the series to my TBR list by the end of February.

Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld (2014)

afterworlds
This cover is sparkly in person. Just saying.

Darcy Patel has put college and everything else on hold to publish her teen novel, Afterworlds. Arriving in New York with no apartment or friends she wonders whether she’s made the right decision until she falls in with a crowd of other seasoned and fledgling writers who take her under their wings…

Told in alternating chapters is Darcy’s novel, a suspenseful thriller about Lizzie, a teen who slips into the ‘Afterworld’ to survive a terrorist attack. But the Afterworld is a place between the living and the dead and as Lizzie drifts between our world and that of the Afterworld, she discovers that many unsolved – and terrifying – stories need to be reconciled. And when a new threat resurfaces, Lizzie learns her special gifts may not be enough to protect those she loves and cares about most.

I “won” this in a book exchange and was graciously allowed to keep it even though someone wanted to “steal” it from me. I am really excited to start this once I finish up Passenger and Falling Kingdoms, since they have a deadline. After that, no more library books until this one is read!

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch (2014)

snow like ashes cover
This cover is ALL THE GORGEOUS.

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, and serving her kingdom just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

I actually read this in January but we’re discussing it in the Wandering Penguin meetings and I want to post a review of it. For both of those, I need notes that I didn’t take the first time around. I enjoyed the story the first time around, so I’m looking forward to reading it again!

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard (2016)

21414439

On a continent ruled by three empires, some are born with a “witchery”, a magical skill that sets them apart from others.
In the Witchlands, there are almost as many types of magic as there are ways to get in trouble—as two desperate young women know all too well.

Safiya is a Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lie. It’s a powerful magic that many would kill to have on their side, especially amongst the nobility to which Safi was born. So Safi must keep her gift hidden, lest she be used as a pawn in the struggle between empires.

Iseult, a Threadwitch, can see the invisible ties that bind and entangle the lives around her—but she cannot see the bonds that touch her own heart. Her unlikely friendship with Safi has taken her from life as an outcast into one of reckless adventure, where she is a cool, wary balance to Safi’s hotheaded impulsiveness.

Safi and Iseult just want to be free to live their own lives, but war is coming to the Witchlands. With the help of the cunning Prince Merik (a Windwitch and ship’s captain) and the hindrance of a Bloodwitch bent on revenge, the friends must fight emperors, princes, and mercenaries alike, who will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

I actually have this as an audiobook but I’m not a fan of how the reader voices Safi and Iseult (I don’t mind the accents, I just wouldn’t give the same breathy, high-pitched voices to these characters). So, I’m waiting for it to come in at the library and am hoping this will happen in February although, given this book came out the same day as Passenger with an even bigger explosion of popularity, that may not happen. Last time I checked, I was 22nd in line, but there were over 10 books in circulation. Fingers crossed!

Whatever Emma Watson and her team select for Our Shared Shelf

question-book.jpg

In case you didn’t know, Emma Watson created a group on Goodreads called Our Shared Shelf and, each month, a feminist book will be read and discussed by the group. As of this writing (1/31), the February book has not been selected. Whatever it is, I’ll be using my Audible credit to buy it (probably) and reading that, too.

So that’s seven books, only one of which I’ll be listening to in my car. I’ve discovered I can’t really listen to fiction, but I can read most of these in a few days if I don’t get sucked in to watching television. I’m doing all right on my Goodreads Reading Challenge goal of 52 books by the end of the year but I’m way behind on K.M. Weiland’s 100 Book Challenge!

What are you reading in February? Were you planning to check any of these books out? Leave a comment below!

 

Author: V. Kane

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is ANATHEMA, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @ValkyrieWriting or Instagram at books_and_dogs

Leave a Reply

