Saturday Posts and Instagram Challenges!

Instagram. What is it? It’s an app? Where you post pictures? And people like them. But it isn’t Facebook…

Apparently “bookstagrammer” is a thing and Instagram is a valuable and underused social media platform for writers/authors. Until very recently, this was me:

giphy (7).gif
With exactly that much class and a little bit more sass.

But, I’ve come to realize it is kind of fun and I like to browse the pictures (especially the Doctor Who memes) and see what authors are up to and so fine, I made an account. And now I hear there are challenges??? How do you challenge Instagram? Is it like Hunger Games but with pictures?

4036394

The lovely Dahlia Adler has created this 28-day author challenge to post an author-life-related picture each day and sounds both potentially-adorable and really fun!

But, I’m not published so I can’t really do it. Maybe in a couple years, but not today. 😦

And I kind of realized this last night when I’d already rescheduled the original post for today to something else. So, cue mad scramble to write a new post!

If you are a published author or close enough that you could do the challenge, I encourage you to check it out! I’ll be following #AuthorLifeMonth all of February to see what all you published writers are doing.

Since trying to start my own Instagram challenge would be kind of sad (don’t underestimate how bad I am at Instagram), I’m instead going to do a February challenge on my blog. It just so happens to coincide with a new announcement:

Introducing: Saturday Posts!

Funny thing, I was planning to add short posts on Saturday to this blog just to see if it would be overwhelming or totally awesome.

While the Monday and Thursday posts each have their own main focus (most of the time), the Saturday ones won’t. I’d like to use them to answer other blog challenges, writing challenges, or put up some of my own work. They will probably be more networking-focused than Monday and Thursday posts but we’ll just have to see!

The Challenge: Expanding to a new day means I should try expanding to new subjects. So, the challenge is to generate 4 brand new ideas and post on one each Saturday in February.

Here’s what I’ve got in mind so far for the February challenge:

  1. How to Write a Book Review–not sure if you’ve seen my book reviews, but they could use standardization and probably more talk about boys. Who knew there were guides and expectations?
  2. Gamefication of Chores and Exercise (and how this might be applied to writing)
  3. Flash Fiction Story (I’ve never done flash fiction before, should be interesting)
  4. Diversity in writing styles (and an anthropological exploration into why there is no One Right Way)

So, go check out Dahlia’s Instagram Challenge, find me on Instagram at books_and_dogs, and we’ll see you on Saturday! Stay awesome, readers.

tumblr_nysing3j6z1tq4of6o1_500
We can all aspire to be as awesome as Joe Walker play Professor Umbridge in A Very Potter Sequel.

 

 

Author: JA Goodsell

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is INNATE, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @JAGoodsell or Instagram at books_and_dogs

3 thoughts

Leave a Reply

