Why I Hate Reading Prologues–But Love Writing Them

Disclaimer: I typically don’t like prologues. This post will probably lean toward reasons why you shouldn’t include a prologue but I will admit that they have been done well.

Prologues. What are they? What are they for?

Prologues started in plays as a short speech given to the audience to prepare them for the story to come (check out the famous prologue from Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet). Rarely, they appear in movies (like the Star Wars opening crawl). In literature, they are often a shortened version of a first chapters that introduce some element of the story that won’t appear until later.

The most important thing about  a prologue is that it includes the Hook.

Peterpan-disneyscreencaps-6985
Not that kind of Hook.

The Hook is the question that keeps the reader turning the page. A Hook can be dialogue, setting, action, just about anything that gets the reader asking something that they can only answer by reading more. But the prologue must have it to be successful, otherwise it’s just confusing.

Why do I hate reading them?

I can count on one hand the number of prologues I have read that included the Hook. Most prologues want to show me part of an exciting scene around the halfway point or an event that happens before the story begins. With the latter, the prologue tends to be used as a setup but still often doesn’t include the Hook.

You always need the Hook. You rarely get it.

Captain_Hook
I like any prologue with this Hook in it

One example of a prologue (and epilogue) that I found riveting (and functional) is the prologue for The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. It has some of the most beautiful descriptions in the (quite very) long story and it is used in conjunction with the epilogue to frame how the reader views the protagonist. It includes the hook in the last line, ” It was the patient, cut-flower sound of a man who is waiting to die.”

The gorgeous description of silence and the setup followed up with that line? Hook, line, and sinker.

I hear mixed reviews about prologues that are just a scene copy-pasta’d from somewhere else in the book—usually before the halfway point, sometimes from the first chapter. I am not a big fan of these. Usually they either repeat the same text later—which distracts me from the scene—or use the prologue as an excuse to skip the scene/gloss over it and by that time, I’ve probably forgotten what was in the prologue in the first place.

And in that case, why would you even take that scene out of it’s proper place in the story?

So, why do I like writing them?

Funnily enough, when I have considered prologues, they are usually a short passage from the halfway point of the book—you know, the kind of prologue I typically find a little annoying.

I write them because I am just so excited to show you (my reader) the really cool stuff! I want to blow past the exposition and setup and description and get straight to the marrow of the story.

But, what I forget is that you, the reader, don’t have the context for that scene, that really cool stuff that I want to show you. I do and it all makes sense to me. But I can put the most thrilling, most compelling, amazing scene I’ve got as a prologue and it doesn’t mean anything to someone who hasn’t yet read the setup.

And if I write a scene that takes place before the first chapter, why not just make it the first chapter?

I will admit there are prologues in fiction that do a fantastic job of hooking readers and reeling them in to the story. But I still argue that most do not. A prologue should not require context, it should give it.

Epilogues? Now that’s a different story.

What do you think about prologues? Did I misspell “prologue” somewhere in here (because I don’t think I’ve said “prologue” enough)? Leave a comment below!

Author: JA Goodsell

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is INNATE, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @JAGoodsell or Instagram at books_and_dogs

5 thoughts

  1. I haven’t found a lot of prologues worth reading. I usually skip over them because I want to immerse myself in the story and be surprised. I don’t want to be told what is going to happen at some point and be disappointed when it doesn’t meet my expectations.

    As for writing prologues, I’ve never experimented with them. For the same reasons why I don’t reading prologues, I feel the same way about writing them. I want the reader to learn what will happen next.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sometimes prologues can be good in a draft as a sort of exercise. If what you put in the prologue actually includes the hook, it can be used as a test for where your story should actually begin. But, in the end, I still don’t include those prologues for the same reasons you stated. I think I still have some tired optimism that a prologue I read will be good even if that optimism is rarely rewarded.

      Like

  2. When reading I never skip prologues because I’m worried I’ll miss something important! However, they do annoy me if they are very long and slow, ultra-confusing, or just involve a lot of info-dumping about the history of a fantasy world (i.e. “In the third age, before the world fell into ruin, the ancient Dhruin people came down from the mountains… blah blah blah.”). But as long as they don’t bore me or take up too much of my time I don’t mind them.

    When writing, however, I am hesitant to include a prologue because I know many people don’t like them (for the reasons you mentioned!). Also, if I am only writing one because I feel my first chapter lacks intrigue or drama then perhaps that just means I need to work on my first chapter, not try to fix it with a prologue. That said, I did include one once in a manuscript (a historical flashback style prologue) that I felt was necessary for foreshadowing something that happens later in the narrative… but I’m still not 100% sure if it was the right decision!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

