New Year’s Writer Resolutions

Last year, I decided to make some New Year’s Resolutions that I actually intended to keep. I resolved to read a nonfiction book each month, learn ten new recipes, hike five new trails, and learn a new skill.

I’m happy to say I have met ALL of those resolutions and that, as we come up on 2016, I want to focus these new resolutions on writing.

I accepted K.M. Weiland’s 100 book challenge but I am really intending on using it as an impetus to read more YA books, to diversify the authors that I read and, therefore, the perspectives and stories that I read. Considering I only read 26 books (the 12 nonfiction included) this year, I doubt I can make it to 100 in the next year (maybe 2017).

My writer resolutions including YA fiction reading goals because these books are some of my best teachers. When I love a book, that author is teaching me how to write a good story. When I’m disappointed or frustrated in a plot, the development of a character, or the structure of the story, that author is showing me what to avoid.

I want to teach the former with my books, so I need to read to find out developing trends, what’s been done, and what makes good stories.

Without further ado, here are my writer’s resolutions for 2016:

  1. Read at least 50 young adult novels
  2. Write 365,000 words toward at least 1 novel (part of the 365k challenge)
  3. Finalize the SAAFire manuscript (well, finalize before querying an agent, that is)

I think that’s enough, don’t you? I mean, my non-writing resolutions include hiking 15 new trails and taking a proficiency test in a foreign language at the end of the year. I think I’m good.

What are your 2016 Resolutions, writing or otherwise? Leave a comment below!

 

Author: JA Goodsell

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is INNATE, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @JAGoodsell or Instagram at books_and_dogs

Leave a Reply

