Dear Santa

This is my first Christmas/holiday season with this blog and I wasn’t sure what to do. A top book list of 2015? A writer’s Christmas list? All these things were being done by most of the blogs I follow and other such lists were all over social media. I wanted to do something in keeping with the holiday spirit and so, true to my inner child, I elected to write a letter to Santa and post it on the blog.

But, being a writer and this being a blog post, it couldn’t be just any old letter. So, I wrote it as a poem—the first poem I’ve written in a very long time. I’m a little rusty, but I had to send something to the North Pole ASAP before Krampus could get wind of my lack of holiday spirit!

Dear Santa,

I was hoping you could bring me a new muse,

mine never shows up when I have time to lose.

She strikes at work and when I’m falling asleep,

when I do coax her out, she barely whispers to me.

I think this muse is for somebody else,

somebody who doesn’t need as much help.

Mine makes me work for that really good feeling

of writing a scene that will leave readers reeling.

I get up while it’s dark, I work late at night

to make sure my readers can’t walk away from a fight.

She helps me write and rewrite and she sets the bar high,

until I make each and every critique partner cry.

On second thought, my muse and I are two of a kind,

she makes me earn my story, I guess I don’t really mind.

Instead, I think what I really, really want

is a TARDIS, a time-turner, or a sarcasm font.

So hurry to my apartment on this Christmas night

so I can go back a few days and have time to write.

I’ll leave cookies and milk, never you fear,

I’ll even loan you my therapy reindeer!

Hoping you have a merry time,

J

2015-12-20 20.50.47

Happy holidays! Hopefully you are snuggled up with your loved ones (pets included), a steaming mug of hot chocolate (with marshmallows), and enjoying a Star Wars spoiler-free holiday (or seeing Star Wars: The Force Awakens). 🙂

 

Author: JA Goodsell

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is INNATE, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @JAGoodsell or Instagram at books_and_dogs

Leave a Reply

