Won the Battle, Not Yet the War

 

I did it! I wrote 50,000 words in the month of November! I’m officially a National Novel Writing Month winner for 2015! Woo hoo!

giphy (2)
The Doctor does it better than I do.

 

But…I didn’t finish the novel.

 

Doctor-facepalm

 

I’m so close! NaNo WriMo has really taught me to just forge ahead. It reminds me of piano lessons I used to take. Whenever I’d mess up, I’d stop and start over. My teacher would rap on my knuckles with a rolled up newspaper and command me to continue with the song even if I played a wrong note or chord.

So I learned to keep going, even if it wasn’t perfect, or right. There are lots of scenes I will need to write to fill in the gaps of my 75k+ novel and then there are lots of other scenes I will probably remove or edit down to a smaller size.

But I will have written the essentially the story I wanted to tell and I will know what needs to be changed and where and how it will affect future chapters.

Also passive –> active voice. Writing 50k in a month leads to a LOT of active voice. And some of the Kronk method:

tumblr_n3q25yX9w81tu8sz5o1_500

 

I am SO EXCITED to start the rewrite, guys! But I need to get the first draft done, first. The goal is to have the final scene and the bridge between what I had already written and what I wrote this month done by next Monday. Hopefully there will be celebrations for that post.

See you Thursday for Character Study!

Author: JA Goodsell

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is INNATE, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @JAGoodsell or Instagram at books_and_dogs

Leave a Reply

