Here’s to the

Character Study posts are in the works but, since it’s Thanksgiving, let’s take a moment to be thankful as writers.  After all, a writer is a storyteller, and not everyone can tell stories.

First, I’m grateful for the gift of storytelling.

I’m thankful for the opportunities available to me to hone my creative storytelling through classes, writing groups, and online blog and website articles.

I’m thankful for the opportunities I’m too poor to currently take advantage of, but give me something to aspire to. Writing conferences, workshops that cost $400 with 200 students for some reason, and the MFA programs that cost tens of thousands of dollars and are impossible to complete while working full time due to residency requirements.

I’m so incredibly thankful for my Motivator, The Wandering Penguins, and my dad (and his shiny office that he lets me use). Without them, I’d still be writing what I did in high school, and that would just be scary. And sad.

I will continue to take for granted the notebook, pen, and laptop until I cannot afford to fix/replace these things. Then I will be extremely grateful for the fixed/replacement version.

In the same vein, I’m also thankful for all of the poor beta reader souls I haven’t yet asked to look at my finished draft. So very, very thankful (insert wicked laugh here).

I’m thankful for my dog.

I’m thankful for the yard I will someday have so I can kick my dog out and write in peace for once.

10517460_10152371501113884_7812406693756957554_n
Are you ready to play now?

I am thankful to the small number of people who read my blog regularly and to the people I don’t know in other cities, states, and countries who check it out, like a post, or even follow the blog. You all rock. Seriously. If I ever write you into my books, I promise I won’t horribly kill (unless you ask).

To the larger number of people who I expect to eventually comb back through this blog after I’m rich and famous: You’re cool, too. Share with your friends (shun the nonbelievers, shuuuuuuuuuuuuuun). 😉

I’m grateful for the Oxford comma. There. I said it. Sue me.

In all seriousness, though, I am a better and stronger person and writer for the obstacles in my past that I have overcome and the challenges that lie ahead. My family, my friends, and my stories enrich my life and without them, I would be empty and blank as the fresh, new page.

For each of you that reads this, I am so grateful for you. Happy Thanksgiving.

Author: V. Kane

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is ANATHEMA, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @ValkyrieWriting or Instagram at books_and_dogs

2 thoughts

Leave a Reply

