Last Full Week of NaNo WriMo

NaNo word count as of this morning: over 41,000 words! We’re climbing literary mountains on Mars, now!

I wrote over 11,000 words this weekend because I am a badass with limited social life.

I also got food poisoning and am still recovering from that. So, short post today.

Week 3 of Nano was the hardest for me so far. I kept reading all these pep talks and comments from other participants saying Week 3 is where the story comes together, things click, the plot starts to make sense. That’s really great.

Except that didn’t happen for me.

If anything, Week 3 is where I wrote the most pointless, needless portions of my NaNo writing. Maybe this is because I’m using NaNo to finish the first draft and most writers would have just passed the halfway point of their story. They would be ending Act 2 and just picking up Act 3 during this last week, that’s some of the most fun any writer has in the book. It’s not the end, but you usually get to do something big around there.

I finished Act 2 on week 2 and have been trying to fix the pacing in Act 3 while writing–never a good idea during NaNo WriMo.

But, getting 11,000+ words done in a weekend, despite the dietary mistakes I made to do so, has put me back on track! My pacing might still suck but that’s what the rewrite is for. I have a clear idea of where I’m going and how to get there and I know I can finish the 50,000 word challenge by the end of the month.

Now to finish the draft itself by the end of the month.

And then spend three months rewriting it because the two halves (what I had written and what I’ve written for NaNo) don’t fit together.

Writer problems, am I right?

20151109_172817
It’s okay mom, I’ll guard the door against any more bad food and you just relax and feel better so we can go on a walk later.

 

Author: JA Goodsell

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is ANATHEMA, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @JAGoodsell or Instagram at books_and_dogs

Leave a Reply

