Goldilocks Consistency–Don’t Write Too Much or Too Little, but Just Write

It’s NaNo, I’m participating, this will be a short post. Please forgive me.

Also, I forgot to say Happy Halloween! I hope everyone had a spooky, creepy, and fun holiday. I fished out my makeshift Minion costume and Zoe went as Elsa from Frozen. You can tell she was just thrilled with that choice.

It’s weekends like this that remind me how important it is for writers to go out and experience life.

On to today’s theme: CONSISTENCY

Consistency in writing—meaning, how regularly do you sit your butt down or plant your feet in front of your standing desk and write literally anything for your current work in progress (WIP)? It could be an outline, actual prose, editing.

20151026_210855
I use a giant sketchpad to outline, so I’m typically on the floor. Someone was distantly curious.

I’m coming to find that outlining and writing consistency are like the yin-yang of the writing process, at least for me. I spent weeks outlining in my head and drawing out my plans on the sketchpad. I scripted scenes and dialogue without actually writing anything down. I told myself I put it off for NaNo but, let’s face it, I put it off because writing can be scary and I’m a lazy person (see next Monday’s post for details, writers read at your own risk!).

But, now that I’m in NaNo, writing consistently every day (and on track to finish early, yeah!), it all really works out! I know where I want to go, what points I want to hit, and how quickly I should be hitting them.

Consistently writing has forced me to watch my pacing. For example, I’m trying to use this month to write Acts 2 and 3, but I think I’m moving way to slowly in Act 2 to finish it in the next week and a half. If I write the whole 50,000 words, this story will be approximately 78,000 words and that’s without the scenes tying the current draft with my NaNo work.

Writing consistently means I’m keenly away of where I am in the story. I’m kind of okay with a story that’s well over the final word count goal (about 75,000) because I know I’m going to cut and rewrite most of Act 1. But being aware of my place in the story and my pacing going forward means adjusting as I go–sort of editing while writing but before the writing actually occurs, so it’s NaNo-legal. I assume. Don’t tell anyone, just in case it isn’t.

See you Monday! Keep writing!

Author: V. Kane

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is ANATHEMA, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @ValkyrieWriting or Instagram at books_and_dogs

Leave a Reply

