NaNo WriMo 2015: Coffee Shop Bliss

Today I went and ~possibly~ accidentally put myself down to sing with a jazz hall of fame musician in the next two weeks. Before thatI wrote over 2,000 words in my NaNo project!

The daily word count goal for NaNo writers is 1,667 in order to write a total of 50,000 words by the end of November and I have a feeling that cute, hipster-ish little coffee shops are going to save me. They provide a steady supply of caffeine and background noise where I am surrounded by students and other creative minds–aka MY PEOPLE.

I had forgotten how much I enjoyed this setting. As a student, I loved going to the library and studying. I loved feeling like a student! Often, this meant I derived great satisfaction from remaining hunched over a couple different textbooks, a whirring laptop, and at least three differently-colored highlighters well past pizza delivery time at the library (where they would bring it right to you).

For some reason, I don’t enjoy being a cubicle worker nearly as much but I love, love, LOVE feeling like a writer in a little shop with my tea or coffee, a pastry, and a blank page in front of me. The cafe I visited today has jazz musicians playing from 12 – 2pm (hence the possible accidental musical debut) and it’s surprisingly conducive to writing. I wrote a torture scene today to blues and jazz and it worked really well!

I’m not sure what that means and I don’t want to give a lot of thought to it.

To be fair, sometimes I need quiet—or, rather, I need to be alone were I can listen to my headphones loudly and obnoxiously to immerse myself in a scene. I am rarely productive when writing prose at home, but luckily my dad lets me use his office space on weekends when he isn’t using it. It’s a nice building, quiet, and I can spread out my various notes, get comfortable, and know that I won’t be bothered for several hours at least.

Writing space can be just about anything. Coffee shops and borrowed offices are my two primary spaces, but I won’t pass up a nice day at the park, bringing a notebook on a hike and waiting for inspiration at the top of a mountain, or even penning a few choice lines of dialogue at the dog park in between tennis ball throws for Zoe.

20150921_171741
You’re still writing? Okay, I’ll wait.

.

I have different writing spaces that serve different purposes and I utilize them based on what I need. Outlining? All that’s done at home. General prose writing? Coffee shop. Specific scene that you know will require focus and music? Office. Nonspecific writing? Anywhere I can.

What kind of writing spaces do you utilize and for what? Leave a comment below!

And, for all you NaNo writers out there: May the words be with you!

Author: JA Goodsell

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is INNATE, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @JAGoodsell or Instagram at books_and_dogs

Leave a Reply

