Thursday Thought–A Cheat Post but LOTS OF CUTE PICTURES

I know I wanted to start exploring different genres but I’ve been so slammed this week that I just didn’t get around to researching fantasy (or any other genre) like I wanted to. šŸ˜¦ I think this seriesĀ deserves that extra time but I don’t have a back-up post waiting in the wings (the shame!). However, for the about 10Ā of you who actually read these posts (and the Google algorithm that will my blog in search results if I post regularly–butĀ mostly you fantastic 10Ā readers), I wanted to share something about writing for this week’s Thursday Thought.

The Thursday Thought posts are meant to be about writing or storytelling as it’s own thing and less about my experience or work. For my cheat post, I’m going to share some online resources that I have found useful (and have not been previously mentioned on this blog except for one, that I can remember) in a variety of contexts, interspersed with cute pictures that shamelessly attempt to distract you from how I only spent about 20 minutes writing this. Expect the bar to be higher in the future.

Regular-quality posts will return next week!

Where to Submit Your Stories

There are lots of webpages dedicated to listing the various journals that will pay writers for short stories. Here a few of those sites and a few journals I have considered submitting to (or have submitted to):

http://www.freelancewriting.com/guidelines/pages/Fantasy-SciFi/

46 Literary Magazines To Submit To

http://www.writersdigest.com/writing-articles/by-writing-goal/get-published-sell-my-work/25_best_places_to_get_published_online

20150822_161836
I submit this ball to you. Thank you for your consideration in throwing the ball.

Writer’s Block

I’m still a teensy bit in denial about my own writer’s block but here are some things I’ve read while haughtily claiming I never get writer’s block.

How to Overcome Writer’s Block: 14 Tricks That Work

http://www.psmag.com/books-and-culture/block-quotes-advice-great-writers-kicking-writers-block-85314

http://www.writersdigest.com/writing-articles/by-writing-goal/beat-writers-block/how-to-overcome-writers-block-like-a-bestselling-author

20150809_083009
I know exactly how you feel.

Grammar

Because, duh. Also, because Grammar Girl is fun.

http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/education/grammar/top-ten-grammar-myths

http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/education/grammar/oxford-comma-pictures

http://www.writingforward.com/grammar/grammar-rules/ten-grammar-rules-and-best-writing-practices-that-every-writer-should-know

We use the Oxford Comma in this house or I will just chew up everything.
We use the Oxford Comma in this house or I will just chew up everything.

Three Blogs I Follow (and the Last Post I Read/Favorited From Each)

Finally, here are a few sites I read regularly and follow on Facebook or Gmail. These provide high-quality posts regularly and I aspire to have this blog be as well-read and distributed as one of these someday.

The Worst Ways to Begin Your Novel: Advice from Literary Agents

Moral Ambiguity in YA Fiction

http://www.helpingwritersbecomeauthors.com/

That’s it for this week. Thanks for sticking with me and I hope at least one of these links were helpful to you. Zoe and I will be taking some mindfulness time for ourselves and return rested and refreshed on Monday. Cheers!

20150724_093043

Author: JA Goodsell

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is INNATE, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @JAGoodsell or Instagram at books_and_dogs

Leave a Reply

