REJECTED and Happy

“Dear Jessica Goodsell:

Thank you for your submission to the Ploughshares Emerging Writer’s Contest and for being patient with us while we carefully considered your manuscript. We received the most submissions in our contest’s history, and we sincerely enjoyed reading the work of so many up-and-coming writers.

As contests go, there can be many talented contenders but only one winner. Although we have not selected yours as the winning piece, please be assured that your submission was read carefully by editors and trained screeners. Thank you again for the opportunity to consider your work. We hope you’ll continue to read and submit to Ploughshares.

Sincerely,
The Editors of Ploughshares  “

No, thank YOU Ploughshares. Thank you for not taking the 5 months you suggested on the website and thank you for rejecting a piece I only submitted to make a point to myself. Thank you for reminding me that, even though I have limited time and much still to learn, rejection is the first step to getting a piece accepted.

And thanks to all the friends and family who celebrate this rejection with me. I will try to be just as joyous if I rejected from Glimmer Train with a better version of the same story. 🙂

I will be printing this out (once I get my printer connected to my computer in my new apartment) and starting a Rejection Wall so I can remember all the attempts along the way to publishing that kept me going and drove me to be a better writer. I’ll keep it near my writing books (as I acquire them), as a little shrine to failure and self-improvement.

It’s a good thing to be rejected, writers. It means you’re trying.

It’s a very short post today! I mentioned a new apartment, this one has a spiffy office area where I am setting up Writing Command Central. Pics will be posted when I’m finished unpacking… >.>

In the meantime, keep on writing and I”ll see you on Thursday!

Cheers!

Author: JA Goodsell

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is INNATE, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @JAGoodsell or Instagram at books_and_dogs

Leave a Reply

