Phoenix Comicon and Internet Advice

This last weekend I volunteered at Phoenix Comicon (insert nerdy joke here). I work in Guest Relations and usually this means I get to chill with some of the authors at the con for the weekend.

This weekend, I was doing something else. But, I still got to see my favorites!

While I missed almost all of the media guests I just wanted to lay eyes on, I did get to visit James A. Owen and Gini Koch, who are two of my longtime favorite authors at Phoenix Comicon. I also stopped by several other authors’ booths but usually wasn’t able to chat (I try not to interrupt business, it’s just rude).

QUICK PLUGS:

James A. Owen writes a beautiful series called “Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica,” the first book of which is called “Here, There Be Dragons” and it is a wonderful take on some old classics. Definitely worth the read and, if you bring it to him to sign, he’ll draw a dragon in it for you! He also has a couple books on finding inspiration and developing your own creativity in art or writing (see “Drawing Out the Dragons”).

Gini Koch is a fantastically witty and fun lady in a bright pink, sequined cowboy hat (cowgirl hat?). She writes sci-fi, urban fantasy (I picked up the first in an urban fantasy series about a lady werewolf detective called “Night Beat”) and so far I can say I love her writing style for being a sharp and clever as she is. Her first series, “Alien” has 10 books out with the 11th on it’s way.

Anyway, Comicon always gets me in the mood to write, so I’ll make this short and give myself more time for my fiction.

In screenwriting, a common piece of advice to those looking to sell their screenplays is to have three or four (in the same genre) ready to go. You are never as hot as you are in Hollywood after you’ve sold your first screenplay, so you should have another ready to be sold right away.

I had never read or heard of a similar thing about novel-writing. I had, in fact, heard competing ideas about whether even your first manuscript needed to be finished (it does, for various reasons). But, I had never been told that I should finish my manuscript and, while shopping it around to agents or publishing companies (see next Thursday’s post on that!) that I should start writing something completely different.

Until Phoenix Comicon. Thanks very much to that author!

It’s exactly like screenwriting, only for novels. An agent can’t sell the second or third in a series until they know the first will sell, but if you have another series in the works and they like you, they can always try that instead.

And it makes complete sense, I just never really thought of it that way.

On the plus side, now I have a great excuse to start writing that other series I wanted to do…just as soon as I finish this first manuscript.

Cheers!

Author: JA Goodsell

I write YA fantasy, blog about it, and then take my dog out for therapy. My current manuscript is INNATE, a story of two sisters caught up in a war between the gods. Find me on Twitter at @JAGoodsell or Instagram at books_and_dogs

Leave a Reply

